About the Zeeland Education Foundation

Our History

The Zeeland Education Foundation was established in the spring of 2005. The goal of the Foundation is to raise private funds to enhance academic excellence for all students of Zeeland Public Schools. An anonymous donor graciously provided $10,000 in seed money to begin this effort. A community-wide fundraising campaign, called Crayons to Careers, was initiated to provide revenue and to establish the endowment fund. A Board of Directors comprised of parents, community leaders and educators within the Zeeland school district supervises the organization. The Community Foundation of the Holland/Zeeland Area serves as the fiscal agent for Foundation’s endowment fund also known as The Legacy Fund.

Annually, teachers and staff of ZPS apply for grants through the Zeeland Education Foundation (ZEF). The ZEF Grant Review Committee reviews the requests of funding and recipients are awarded grant money based on resources that promote scholastic achievement and extraordinary learning opportunities for the students of ZPS. 



Our Funds

DIRECT IMPACT FUND is our "checking account". This fund is utilized for our day to day operations and for the grants that are awarded to the teachers during the annual grant cycle. Gifts to this fund ensure that the Zeeland Education Foundation is able to provide funding for our annual teacher and district grant cycles. 

LEGACY ENDOWMENT FUND is our "savings account". This fund is designed to provide long-range support to the school by investing the funds, accruing interest and leaving the principal intact. It provides a perpetual source of funding necessary to address educational needs far into the future. Gifts can be made to the Legacy Fund as a cash donation, in-kind gifts, stocks, fund transfers and estate planning. The Community Foundation of the Holland/Zeeland Area serves as the fiscal agent for our endowment fund: The Legacy Fund.

Board of Directors

Tom Den Herder

Bob Bishop
Vice President

Mitch Green

Rick VanDorp

Board Members: 

Cal DeKuiper 

Jim Eickhoff

Gary Feenstra

NIkki Kleinheksel

Leslee Lewis

Amy Nash

Jim Schoettle

Sara Stevens

Mary Beth Timmer

Sarai VanderWood



Lisa Ghiardi


Zeeland Education Foundation


Dr. Brandi-Lyn Mendham


Zeeland Public Schools


Julie Patrerick

Assistant Superintendent of Early Childhood and Elementary Curriculum

Zeeland Public Schools


Matt Stolz

Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Curriculum

Zeeland Public Schools


Brandy Navetta

Director of Communications

Zeeland Public Schools

Contact Us

If you have questions or wish to discuss alternate ways to support the Zeeland Education Foundation, please contact

Lisa Ghiardi
183 W. Roosevelt Zeeland, MI 49464